FMA names 2007 Safety Award winners

May 12, 2008

The Fabricators & Manufacturers Association, International (FMA) (www. has announced the 2007 FMA/CNA Safety Awards winners. Open to all FMA and Tube & Pipe Association, International (TPA) (www. members, the program recognizes metal fabrication companies that adhere to excellence in safety.

The Safety Award of Honor is awarded to companies having perfect safety records, i.e., no recordable injuries or illnesses for the reporting period. Award winners were selected by the Safety Council, an FMA committee sponsored by CNA Insurance Group and designed to promote safety in the industry. Two of this year’s winning companies have impressive multiple year safety records; B. Walter & Company has won for 12 straight years and McAbee Construction has won for five straight years.

Companies receiving the Safety Award of Honor include:
o AK Tube LLC, Columbus, Ind.
o B. Walter & Company, Inc., Wabash, Ind.
o FMT, Inc., Findlay, Ohio
o Great Lakes Contracting, Inc., Milwaukee
o Main Steel Polishing Co., Tinton Falls, N.J.
o Main Steel Polishing Co. – Boyle, Baltimore
o Main Steel Polishing Co. – Manokin, Baltimore
o McAbee Construction, Inc., Tuscaloosa, Ala.
o Nisshin Automotive Tubing LLC, Versailles, Ky.
o Nova Group, Inc., Napa, Calif.
o Welfab, Inc., N. Billerica, Mass.

The Safety Award of Merit is awarded to companies posting an injury and illness incidence rate for the reporting period that is better than the published Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) rate by 10 percent or greater, based on their North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code. The merit winners selected by the Safety Council include:
o Anderson & Dahlen Inc., Ramsey, Minn.
o Clarion Metals, Covington, Ga.
o Main Steel Polishing Co., Inc., Dallas
o Wichita Steel Fabricators, Wichita, Kan.

Main Steel Polishing Co., Inc. of Commerce, Calif., was recognized with a 2007 Safety Honorable Mention Award for posting an injury and illness incidence rate for the reporting period that was better than the published BLS rate, based on their NAICS code.

“We congratulate all of our 2007 FMA/CNA Safety Award winners,” Gerald Shankel, president and chief executive officer of FMA said. “Participating in FMA’s Safety Awards program recognizes employees’ safe work habits, stimulates interest in accident prevention and promotes safety in the workplace.”

To be eligible to receive recognition, companies were required to submit OSHA Form 300A, Summary of Work-Related Injuries and Illnesses, for the period Jan. 1, 2007, through Dec. 31, 2007. Firms of all sizes were eligible. Winners were selected based on NAICS code categories and BLS injury and illness incidence rates.

Based in Rockford, Ill., the Fabricators & Manufacturers Association, Intl. is a professional organization with more than 2,300 members working together to improve the metal forming and fabricating industry.